TRUST

TRUST

A word that has come up A LOT lately in my life.

A word that I find hard to comprehend sometimes.

The image above shows a ride that I was on some years back. I was trusting that I would not fall and that the safety harness would keep me from falling off. I trusted the person who checked my harness before starting the ride and I trusted the equipment that nothing would go awry.

Why do I find it so hard sometimes to trust the Lord?

TRUST

Trust, trust, trust… Easy to say, hard to do.

I was contemplating that word. Visualizing it in my head and I came up with a profound thought. There is a ‘t’ on each side of this word and when you replace it with a symbol of a cross then it looks something like this:

TRUST-3

How awesome is that! God has made this word a reflection of Him! As we trust in Him we can’t help but look to the cross. The cross that Jesus died on. The cross that Jesus came down from and was then put in a tomb. The tomb that was empty three days later because Jesus conquered sin and death! He died so that I might live!

I still find it hard to trust…  My thoughts then went more towards those three letters in the middle. ‘R U S’ Are you ‘S’? What could that mean?

‘S’ could stand for any number of things. Safe, Secure, Sure. So the question is – Do I trust God enough that I can be safe in His arms? Do I trust God enough to feel secure in His promises? Do I trust God enough to be sure of His love? I was only reading the first half of the verse from Proverbs. The second half is what I need to learn.

“Do not depend on your own understanding.” Do not think you can do it all yourself. Trust. Do not try to do things on your own. Trust. Do not believe in your own understanding or how you perceive things. Trust.

Then I saw the letters backwards from my visual. ‘S U R’ Yes you are!

YES! I am safe in His arms. He can carry me and uphold me in my darkest hour.

The Lord upholds all who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down.” Psalm 145:15

YES! I feel secure in His promises! He promises to never leave me nor forsake me.

“The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” Deuteronomy 31:8

YES! I am sure of His love! He loves me no matter what I do and He loves me unconditionally.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16

I am Safe in His arms!    I feel Secure in His promises!    I am Sure of His love!

This ultimate reassurance helps me once again to TRUST.

Trust in the Lord with all my heart!

2 thoughts on “TRUST

Leave a comment